We would like to bring to your attention a new call for PhD scholarships for the academic year 2020/2021 within the Physics Department at the University of Milano-Bicocca.

Details on the selection procedure are available at: https://en.unimib.it/education/doctoral-research-phd-programmes/how-apply-phd-programme
The deadline for applying is on June 26, 2020.

A total of 16 scholarships are available in this call within the Physics Department, including on several research topics of interest to the astrophysics group. The astrophysics group at the University of Milano-Bicocca focuses on three macro-areas: observational cosmology and the physics of cosmic rays (Prof. M. Gervasi, F. Nati, M. Zannoni), extragalactic astrophysics (Prof. S Cantalupo, M. Fumagalli), and relativistic astrophysics and gravitational waves (Prof. M. Colpi, M. Dotti, B. Giacomazzo, A. Sesana). The group is leading major observational and theoretical programmes at national and international facilities, also in collaboration with INFN (National Institute for Nuclear Physics) and INAF (National Institute for Astrophysics).

Members of the group are also active participants in several international collaborations, including the MUSE consortium, the WEAVE collaboration, the LISA consortium, the Virgo Collaboration, the European and International pulsar timing array collaboration, the Simons Observatory, the LiteBIRD satellite, and the Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) experiment on the International Space Station.

Supported by several national and international grants, including three ERC awards, the group is undergoing a phase of rapid growth, with the recent hiring of 5 new faculty members and the appointment of approximately 15 postdoctoral fellows and PhD students.

More information on the Physics Department and the University of Milano-Bicocca can be found at https://www.fisica.unimib.it/en and https://en.unimib.it/

For all inquiries, contact Prof. Michele Fumagalli (michele.fumagalli@unimib.it).